125 Years of LPFF - Blog

125 years magenta 125 years purple 125 years blue

Our links with the MCC - 125 years on

Anonymous 06 February 2015

As part of our 125th Anniversary celebrations we have been exploring our historic links with Marylebone Cricket Club. We are great supportors of cricket in the capital and last year over 679 cricket matches were played on our grounds.

The London Playing Fields Society (now Foundation) was established by a group of sporting philanthropists who were concerned about the recreational opportunities afforded to the working classes. These volunteers included representatives from a number of organisations including the Football Association, the RFU and MCC.

Seven former MCC Presidents have played a key role in supporting the LPFF’s work.  They include:

•          Sir Edward Chandos Leigh QC - Founding LPFF Chairman, President of MCC 1887

•          Lord Alverstone - LPFF Vice President, President of MCC 1903

•          Sir Pelham (Plum) Warner MBE - LPFF Patron, President of the MCC 1950

•          Peter May - LPFF Vice President, MCC President 1980

•          Lord Bramall - LPFF President, MCC President 1988

•          Doug Insole - LPFF Trustee, MCC President 2007

•          Mike Gatting - LPFF Vice President, MCC President 2014

MCC Committee Members Roger Knight and Matthew Fleming have also served on our Board of Trustees in recent years.

In January Alex Welsh and LPFF Trustee and former Middlesex and England cricketer Jamie Dalrymple met with MCC Chief Executive, Derek Brewer and Community Development Manager, Laura Brown to re-invigorate the links between our two organisations.  It became clear that, as in 1890, there are real synergies in our work supporting schools and grassroots cricket and in using sport to achieve wider social and health outcomes.